Reviews

Praise for Venice in the MoonlightVenice-in-the-Moonlight-EbookCOVER

I was blown away by Elizabeth McKenna’s book Cera’s Place so when she offered me a copy of this story I jumped at it. And again I was blown away. She takes us back in time and mixes mystery with romance flawlessly. The characters are dynamic. The way she describes time and place is just outstanding. This story just flows. My only complaint was I didn’t want it to end. I escaped right into the pages and didn’t want to leave. Dollycas on Escape With Dollycas book review blog (Full review – http://www.escapewithdollycas.com/2013/11/15/review-venice-in-the-moonlight-by-elizabeth-mckenna/)

I really have to recommend this novel. It’s beautiful and brilliant and I cannot find any flaws within the depths of the words. This is my first time ever reading a novel written by McKenna, but I am quickly looking forward to future releases. Venice in the Moonlight is a remarkable story of enduring loss, suffering and in the end love, and I will forever carry it with me. For the Passion of Romance (Full review – http://forthepassionofromance.blogspot.com/2014/03/top-pick-novel-review-giveaway-venice.html)

This is one of those novels that draws you completely into the storyline and keeps you there throughout.  I found myself walking in the main character’s shoes, living through the many trials that she found herself facing.  This was a light, easy read that was simultaneously thought provoking and emotionally charged. Jonel Boyko on Amazon/Goodreads (Full review – https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/743746584)

Absolutely loved this book! It’s a historical, a mystery and a romance that peaks over and over again with every chapter. Literary Chanteuse (Full review – http://www.literarychanteuse.blogspot.ca/2013/11/venice-in-moonlight-review.html)

I really enjoyed reading this book. The descriptions were very provocative. Everything from the costumes to the deep emotional loss Marietta experiences show McKenna’s writing range. The twists and turns made it a real page turner. I even became upset when I realized I left my Kindle at home one day and wouldn’t get to see what happened next! Romance and More (Full review – http://jannaswalker.blogspot.com/2013/12/review-venice-in-moonlight-by-elizabeth.html)

The Italian atmosphere and murder mystery elements were just icing on the cake. Great descriptive writing with an easy flow that pulls you effortlessly into the story, wrapping you up in the characters and their fate. Entertaining Read! Midnight Attic Reader (Full review – http://midnightatticreader.blogspot.com/2014/02/venice-in-moonlight-by-elizabeth-mckenna.html)

I was anxious to read this book. I love a good historical romance, and I wasn’t disappointed. The story plays out in an engaging setting during an interesting time frame. The characters are believable, and the lead male character is unique. The paragraphs and chapters flowed smoothly; making it a very quick read. I just kept reading. The romance was built up nicely, but there was also Marietta’s emotional struggles, and a strong mystery suspense element to keep the reader intrigued. Tina Marie Says (http://mariereadsandreviews.blogspot.com/2014/06/venice-in-moonlight-by-elizabeth-mckenna.html)

 I found this story while looking around for something different from the same old, same old.  It really surprised me.  The agonizing journey of the heroine, torn between two kinds of love, is written from the gut  and beautifully set in Venice.  I shall definitely be looking for more from the author specially if the other books also have a European setting. Ronnie Stuart on Amazon

The characters are real and vibrant. You come to know each of them personally through McKenna’s talent of bringing them to life. The storyline is remarkable and believable. Each descriptive word McKenna uses pulls you into this story so you can see it, feel it. Angela Ford on Amazon/Goodreads

I loved this short read. I only wished it was longer. Mckenna tells the story so vividly that you feel like you are there in the middle of everything. I would recommend it to everyone to read. Heather on Amazon

It was very well written and I was soon sucked into the story. I loved the description in the novel, I could feel the rushing of the rivers and the myriads of emotions. And the romance oh the romance! Laetitia on Goodreads (Full review – https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/751849052)

(4.5) I will be looking at more of McKenna’s pieces for sure because she writes with wonderful imagery (which I am always a sucker for) and realistic characters that I kind of wish I could see again. Sammy the Bookworm blog (Full review – http://www.sammythebookworm.com/index.php/fiction-reviews/230-venice-in-the-moonlight-by-elizabeth-mckenna)

This story had me with the first line! The image portrayed is wonderful! A surreal moment! That moment captures with a totally restrained focus the helplessness and seething anger of Marietta Gatti’s, set against the background of a dysfunctional marriage and family. So much is weighted by so few words. (Full review – http://eyes2creviews.blogspot.com/2014/01/darkness-and-passion-in-1750s-venice.html)

This book had you feeling every emotion possible and both of the main characters pulled at your heart strings! Fell in love a little with Nico myself and I adored “Kitty.” I loved the strongness of her character and was glad her spunk was still alive after all she has been through. Kelly Smitherman on Amazon/Goodreads (Full review – https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/743757677)

(4.5) This book has all of the elements that I look for in a good novel—romance, suspense, unresolved sexual tension and most importantly, love…Venice in the Moonlight is a book that I could see myself reading again and again. It kept me on the edge of my seat, praying that all would work out in the end. Liz on The Hive blog (Full review – http://beebookreviews.blogspot.co.uk/2013/11/lizs-review-of-venice-in-moonlight-by.html)

The first chapter blew me away, I felt so sorry for Marietta. The story itself is quite entertaining, you are not sure what is going to happen with Nico and Marietta as the story progresses. Entertaining read. Emily on Musings From An Addicted Reader (Full review – http://musingsfromanaddictedreader.wordpress.com/2014/01/20/venice-in-the-moonlight-by-elizabeth-mckenna/)

The mixture of crime and romantic in the 18th century is absolutely stunning. Once more I have fallen in love with Venice. The description  is clear and comprehensible. The characters are great. Jeri’s Book Attic (Full review – http://jeri-ryan.wix.com/jerisbookattic#!Venice-in-the-Moonlight-by-Elizabeth-McKenna/cu6k/55a5701a0cf25b8bf7e95513)

Recommended read for those who enjoy historical romance but seek something outside the English ballroom. Kim (SOS Aloha blog) on Goodreads (Full review – https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/752348266)

Good reading…interesting characters and vivid descriptions. Easy to imagine being there. Good love story between the main characters. I would recommend this book! Kathleen Slattery on Amazon

(3.5) The beginning of this story grabbed my interest right away and it also brought my emotions into play. I REALLY liked the heroine Marietta and I felt for her to the point that my eyes were tearing up. Kathleen on Swept Away By Romance (Full review – http://www.sweptawaybyromance.com/2014/01/venice-in-moonlight-by-elizabeth-mckenna.html)

 

What the Book Review Blogs are saying about Cera’s Place:Cera's Place - Ebook Small

Escape with Dollycas Into a Good Book – chosen as Best Historical Romance 2012 (12/28/12)

Escape with Dollycas Into a Good Book – 5 stars (8/11/12)

The Book Burp – 5 stars (5/24/12)

Inside the Mind of Wenona – 5 stars (1/8/12)

Peace Love Books – 4 stars (1/16/12)

Once Upon a Chapter – 4 stars (2/13/12)

Clu’s Review – 4 stars (2/20/12)

Marissa’s Book Lounge – 4 stars (2/27/12)

Mrs. Condit Reads Books – 4 stars (3/23/12)

The Jeep Diva – 4 stars (6/7/12)

Romantic Historical Lovers – 4 stars (8/8/12)

Lizzieenglish – 4 stars (10/18/12)

Breath of Life – 4 stars (10/19/12)

The Book Breeze – 4 stars (5/20/13)

Mina’s Bookshelf – 3.5 stars (4/21/13)

MK McClintock Blog – 3.5 stars (6/30/12)

A Date with a Book – 3.5 stars (8/27/12)

Night Owl Reviews – 3.5 stars (9/3/12)

What others are saying about Cera’s Place on Amazon and Goodreads:

  “The story is engaging and the characters are vividly portrayed in the book. As I was reading it, I felt transported back to those times, as if I was there witnessing the events firsthand as I was reading this novel. It was very enjoyable and engrossing, and hard to put down. It’s great for reading on summer vacation!” Ruth Anne on Amazon

 “I loved this book, and I’m very glad I had the chance to read it. The author’s style of writing is really up my alley and I would read books by her again. The story was a good one and it was a compelling situation. I would recommend this book to everyone!” Natalie Kozaczka on Goodreads

“I started to read this book yesterday. At Chapter 16, I realized I wasn’t ready to part company with the many interesting and feisty characters. I clicked off my kindle and read the final four chapters today. The no-frills storytelling, natural character development, unexpected plot twists, and high level tension deserve five stars.” Gail M Baugniet on Amazon

“An awesome debut! A love story that will carry you back to a very exciting time. It turned out to be really different from what I was expecting…All the characters were very well developed and believable. The story was paced well and descriptions sent vivid pictures to my mind. This story is a romance but it is wrapped in a very suspenseful mystery. There are a few steamy moments too. A perfect story for me. I was unable to put it down. For a debut novel it is definitely worth 5 stars! I am looking to reading more by this author.” Lori Caswell on Goodreads

“I highly enjoyed reading the adventure of Jake and Cera.” Katherine on Goodreads

“The beginning grabbed me right up in its arms and didn’t want to put me down…I got emotionally involved with all of the characters in the book from the moment each hit the scene. The way that Elizabeth describes her characters makes you either love them or hate them right away…The love story between Jake and Cera is gradual leading up to some pretty awesome love scenes that left me tingling and wanting more…All in all this book was well worth the read. I will recommend this one to many people for a quick and great read.” Mindi on Amazon and Goodreads

“This is very well written. It takes a little bit to get into it but once you are in you just can’t get out until the end. I love all of the characters in the book. Each and every one of them really make the book pop. You will enjoy this book if you choose to purchase it.” Renee on Amazon

“Enjoyed very much! Great plot and a good read.” L. Kito on Amazon

“Captivating:)” Salma on Goodreads

“Elizabeth McKenna’s writing immersed me deeper and deeper into the story and she delivers a beautiful, intriguing tale…I loved Jake and Cera’s emotional journey for justice and love, they touched my heart and I was rooting for them. Elizabeth McKenna delivered a powerful and captivating read with Cera’s Place. Supported by a striking and witty cast of characters Cera’s Place is entertaining, it is a thrilling read that kept me riveted to my chair from start till finish!” Marissa on Goodreads / Amazon / Marissa’s Book Lounge

“Filled with tension and action, this read was incredibly entertaining…If you love historical, suspense and westerns you should definitely read Cera’s Place by Elizabeth McKenna.” Angela Rose on Goodreads

“This isn’t the typical historical romance I read, but it was definitely just as enjoyable! The reason this one was so different was because Cera, the main character, was the owner of a saloon and she was a hard-headed female instead of the normal damsel in distress girls that are normally in historical romances. It was also cool how this story took on a crime/mystery genre when Cera was trying to catch the bad guys in town who were selling Chinese girls…It was quick, but Cera’s Place still leaves you with a nice, romantic story you can’t help but get lost in.” Jessica on Goodreads

“This was an historical novel full of the suspense that is usually in a modern thriller/crime drama…From that point on I thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to more stories from the talented Ms McKenna.” Mrs. Condit Read’s Books on Goodreads/Amazon

“By the end of the second chapter, my heart was in my throat, and I cared about these characters and what they were doing. The characters are interesting and believable, the storyline is good…The plot moved along mostly believably, and there was lots of action.” Rhonda on Amazon

“The plot is interesting, even gripping, with some of the action sequences keeping you on the edge. The characters are alive, authentic, having distinct personalities and talking like real people. The scenery is beautifully described…” Dascalu on Amazon

“I expected this book to be full of steamy romance & captivating love scenes – I was not disappointed!” Kathleen on Amazon

“Elizabeth has done a wonderful job writing this book…This is not just a simple love story, it has a soul.” Aditi on Amazon and Goodreads

“I love historicals, and this definitely didn’t disappoint!…All in all, it was a great read with excellent characters!” Brea on Amazon and Goodreads

“The characters were very believable and the story moved along at a nice pace…I enjoyed the story very much and I look forward to Ms. McKenna’s next story.” Bridget on Goodreads

“Cera’s Place has a nice balance of character dialogue and descriptive language. L’amour is expressive (ahhh sigh). Like with most romance books, the author starts slow but once the action picks up, you can hardly put the book down. Relationships that did not exist in the beginning are well established by the end.” Chandra on Goodreads and Amazon

“Cera’s Place was unique. This was a really good book, full of suspense and drama and a little love. I highly recommend it to anyone that loves to read those kinds of books.” Book Lover on Amazon

“This is a debut novel for Elizabeth McKenna.  Her portrayal of time and place are excellent.  It’s much more than an ex-hooker with a heart story, it brings to life a time in history when a woman’s options were limited and her civil rights left to the whims of men.  McKenna’s supporting characters are memorable and are often the glue that holds the story together. I struggled with the main characters, Jake and Cera.  Their relationship was uneven.  It didn’t unfold but jerked forward like a car with a bad clutch.  They seemed underdeveloped, especially in comparison with the other supporting characters. But Ms. McKenna is an excellent writer and I am looking forward to new offerings from her in the future.” Donna Keihle on The Book Breeze/Amazon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s